He Goes to Church on Sunday by Billy Murray

I know a very wicked man; I knew him when a lad.

I never met his equal telling lies.

And though he takes delight in doing everything that’s bad,

He thinks he’ll go to heaven when he dies.

 

When but a child he robbed his dear old Grandma in her sleep.

He sold her golden teeth out of her jaws.

He’s been a kleptomaniac since he began to breathe,

But the neighbors think that he’s all right because

 

He goes to church on Sunday,

He passes ‘round the contribution box,

But meet him in the office on a Monday,

He’s as crooked and as cunning as a fox.

On Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday,

He’s robbing everybody that he can,

But he goes to church on Sunday,

So they say that he’s an honest man.

 

I always thought my family doctor honest as could be,

Until I had a pain the other day.

He said, “You have appendicitis, I can plainly see.

You need an operation right away.”

 

He charged three hundred dollars for that operation, then,

He found I only had a stomachache.

He left his scissors in me when he sewed me up again,

Then he went and marked me “Open” by mistake.

 

He goes to church on Sunday,

He passes ‘round the contribution box,

But meet him in the office on a Monday,

He’s as crooked and as cunning as a fox.

On Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday,

He’s robbing everybody that he can,

But he goes to church on Sunday,

So they say that he’s an honest man.

 

Original recording here:  https://archive.org/details/BillyMurray_part2

One thought on “He Goes to Church on Sunday by Billy Murray

  1. Thanks for “He goes to church on Sunday”. This song has come to me over and over through the years since a fellow student sang it in 8th grade, but only the last line remained in my head. Great jumping off point for a sermon.

Leave a Reply

