No Real Conviction for Sin

A.W. Tozer on today’s low spiritual energy:

Vittorio Matteo Corcos - Dreams - 1896The result is that when people “accept” Christ they do so with little or no real conviction for sin and without radical repentance. It is rare now to see a transforming conversion. The average convert becomes one by a series of compromises, whereby he surrenders something to gain something and dickers for his salvation like a huckster. The thought of unconditional surrender to the Lordship of Jesus never enters his mind. A shoddy mercantile theology has reduced the whole thing to the level of an across-the-counter transaction with no loss of face to the sinner. Of course the resultant conversion is a cold-blooded, emotionless affair.

Source and read more: http://www.neve-family.com/books/tozer/neglect/08.html

2 thoughts on “No Real Conviction for Sin

  1. Reblogged this on A Mom Looking Up and commented:
    One must be born again. Although I was 11 when I first accepted Christ as my Savior, I was 38 before I realized what it meant to be born again. The second go around, there was a real conversion in my life. I am so very different I hardly recognise myself. Praise be to God!

Leave a Reply

